A place in time

By Verbosa

Upside Down

It has been a fairly normal Saturday - laundry, baking, more laundry, more baking...then a big clearing session.

Since we moved the "work room" (as The Boy used to call our smallest bedroom that we used as an office) to the larger back bedroom, Mr A and I have been trying to create some sort of order and use the move to have a good clear out. Not an easy task for a pair of dedicated hoarders, although I prefer the terms "maximalist" or "clutterholic" myself.

Anyway, the point is, we are surrounded my stuff and lots of it. To be honest, I actually find the whole business of getting rid of stuff quite unsettling, although it always seems better when things are clearer afterwards. It's just that moment of having to decide to dispose of things that I don't like and it makes me really sad.

Of course, I could have taken a snap of how much we have already cleared out or even how much we still have to clear...but I thought I'd blip two of my books on the subject instead. I refer to them quite frequently, but have a bit more trouble putting the words into action!

So as a note to self I need to remember that quote from William Morris:

"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful."

P.S. Sorry the snap came out upside down!! But it seems to sum up the day as having been an "upside down" sort of day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.