A place in time

By Verbosa

Rainmakers

What a week - I'm so glad it's Friday.

On Tuesday I went along to my first ever Zumba class. It was also my first exercise class since about 1986, apart from a few brief "Dunk Your Bump" sessions for expectant Mums in 1992. I did wonder if I'd be the oldest one there, but although NOT the oldest, I was in the top quartile for age I'd say. Never mind, no-one seemed to care. And although I largely kept up with the footwork and was facing the right direction most of the time, the arm movements will have to come later - that was just TOO much to coordinate on my first session. Having watched a little of my friend's Zumba class, I reckoned it would be just the thing for me, although I confess I wasn't overly keen on the music at this particular one. Still, I have promised myself I will go along three times and if I still don't much care for the music, I will search out another one that I might prefer. You see, I used to be a keen ballroom and latin dancer in my teens and I do miss it - especially after all the recently featured dancing on Strictly - but Mr A doesn't dance and I'd feel "unfaithful" going dancing with anyone else.

Today I finally got a temp to start helping me with my backlog of work, so I am hopeful that some of the worries at work will ease as things are brought up to date again. As I think I've said before, I do love my work but there is just TOO MUCH of it and I cannot keep up, despite having tried.

In celebration of it being Friday and as a thank-you to The Boy, I took him out for a slap-up pub lunch and a beer. I had a really delicious chicken & bacon caesar salad with a glass of rose. And we were joined by two of the "girls" from the office. A great way to round off the week.

Oh, and I nearly forgot! The reason for the title of this blip being Rainmakers is that every time The Boy wears these canvas shoes the heavens open and he gets soaking wet feet. No word of a lie - EVERY time! So if all you gardeners out there are grateful for the extra rainfall today, you can thank The Boy for helping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.