Today's Special

By Connections

Keep Your Eye on the Ball

...while juggling. Not an easy task, but easy enough for Jules, who wows the crowds at the Bellingham Farmers Market most Saturdays. He's one of many buskers who provide a wide range of entertainment -- including this trio, whose repertoire included a fine rendition of Steeleye Span's Bedlam Boys -- and trust in the generosity of the market attendees when the proverbial hat is passed.

Tulips are finally in bloom, and there were some lovely ones at the market today. If flowers weren't what you fancied, a wide range of sweets, including these appealing gluten-free cookies, were also available.

There were plenty of spring greens for sale today, including stinging nettles. I ran into a friend who told me she was going to make nettle pesto, and the process sounded easy enough, so I bought some nettles and will give that a try. If we like it, I'll look for some wild nettles on the undeveloped land nearby.

Among the many craft offerings today, I was charmed by these spring-toned earrings and this beautiful handspun yarn. I had these images and plenty of other lovely sights to review in my mind's eye while spending several hours this afternoon clearing space in the front garden so we can plant the four Nandina domestica (heavenly bamboo) shrubs a friend delivered today. I need to keep my eye on the garden ball -- Mother Nature's clock is ticking!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.