The Future (2nd appearance)

Here is my 3-year-old great-niece, EM, helping me make a fresh fruit salad of tangerines, mango, banana, apple, and orange juice. Her pride in this task was reflected in the four servings she promptly ate!

Sixty-three years from now, when she is my present age and I am long gone, I hope that she will still be making and enjoying fresh fruit salad. I feel connected to my maternal grandmother and great-aunt through their recipes and my memories of the food they made, and trust that the same will be true for EM -- a tangible, unbroken expression of love.

(I think that I've remedied the orientation problem of yesterday's photo -- take a look, if you're interested. I'm not going to try to link it; that would be pushing my luck!)

(April 16 addendum: I realized that I'd used "The Future" for my February photo of EM, so I've added an explanation of sorts to the title above.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.