LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Twins!

Charlie and Lucas, my newest nephews, born on the 19th of March but due to being 120 miles away and then going to Portugal today was the first chance to see them. I tried not to intrude too much but I got a couple of funny looks when I started using continuous drive. Everyone seems to associate the noise with celebrity and papparazzi without really knowing it's a really good way of photographing unpredictable things like babies.

So it was a big family afternoon, catching up with everyone, Jen didn't see any of my family for the whole of last year (apart from my daughter) so she especially had much catching up to do.

We still managed to pop over to the pub to see Newcastle beat Swansea 2-0, hich promised to be the hardest of the next four fixtures so that releases the pressure a little, 9 more points and we are guaranteed 6th, although that may not be enough to get into Europe depending on the outcome of the FA Cup.

After the game we had a curry at Lal Qila in the village, ver noce but there were very drunk, very obnoxious and rather racist people across the room from us which led us to have to make a hasty exit efore Jen got up and said something to the manager (I think she was mostly disgusted that the manager was allowing his staff to be talked to is such a manner, at one point one of the guys had his napkin on his head and was talking in a kind 'It Ain't Half Hot Mum' Indian accent).

The evening went on far too long and included far too many bottles of wine but my brothers children who, like children everywhere, would not go to sleep when there was company in the house but were very helpfully extremely funny in the process. When my brother snapped and went upstairs and issued a stern list of instructions they quickly scattered to their own rooms and all was quiet, then a little voice popped up 'What were the options again?'.

And it appears this is 1500, I usually miss any of the 'special' days and I'm not sure if 1500 will be a 'special' day but at least this time it is of something special, even if it is all going up rather out of order at the minute.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.