... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Clean and shiny Tank.

This is Tank after his springtime rinse and shell-polish.
This is also him having noticed that someone has entered his garden; the rest of the photos I took were of him stamping around after me...

The tortoise is named Tank because he previously belonged (fairly briefly) to my aunt, uncle, & their son (my cousin); he was quite young at the time, and attached the turret of a toy army tank to the back of the tortoise's shell... Hence "Tank".

We don't know how old he is, because my aunt actually found him stamping around a field in Sussex. She rescued him, and put up a notice in the post office asking whether anyone had mislaid a tortoise. An elderly couple who'd recently moved into the area got in touch to say that he was theirs, but, their garden having no fences, they'd been unable to keep him contained. He even had a small hole drilled into the very corner of his shell which they'd used to try to tether him with string (apparently ineffectively).

Anyway, I believe my aunt was in a similar position (no fences to contain him), so he was passed along to my family. My family have had him at least 28 years, and apparently he hasn't grown significantly in that time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.