... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Brixton Village: Federation Coffee

More atmospheric in large ("L").

This is Brixton Village, one of the covered markets in Brixton (the other being Market Row across the road). The black-coloured unit on the corner is Federation Coffee which is my favourite Brixton café: it is a small and honest little café with large windows all the way round and it has a nice vibe and very friendly staff. Federation Coffee also has a little coffee hatch in Piano Yard just off the high street that is open in the mornings to catch the rush-hour traffic &c.; I'd bought coffee from the hatch quite a few times before I actually found the original café (having looked around the wrong part of the market a few times). The café has a nice buzz to it, and is fractionally warmer than being outdoors in the cold months!
When I first found the café, I'd just bought myself a flat white from the coffee window and asked the member of staff there for help in finding the café! I reached the café with a ristretto in mind, but discovered that I didn't have any change left (I was standing at the counter about to order). I asked the staff if they'd accept euros, and they said "I'm afraid not, but we do accept Brixton pounds!". Brixton pounds?! They're a local form of currency (info here) and each note features the face of a local hero (the B£10 has David Bowie on it!).

Federation roasts its own coffee: their blend is very nice but I find it slightly too laid back (in that it is interesting with nutty and dark chocolatey tones, but is rather mild, and lacks the bolder complexity of some of the cafés I prefer in London). It is definitely unique, having its own pleasing character, and I always drop by when I have something to do in Brixton, which makes Brixton seem like much less of a chore! I'm not good at ratings, but would give the coffee 7/10 perhaps (with the best that a decent Costa/Nero café can offer getting a 4/10).

p.s. Coincidentally, the toning option that I've been using in Silver Efex Pro 2 is called "Coffee".
p.p.s. This was taken at 10AM on a Monday morning: the market is rarely this quiet...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.