... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM: Mono Mezzanine

More dramatic in large ("L").

An unexpected benefit of taking sets of bracketed exposures for HDR images is that they provide some nice material for converting to mono (with the different exposure settings giving a different range of possible results). This is a photo I took at -1.0EV and it gave me much better tones in the stained-glass windows (better than in the camera's 0.0EV metered exposure) which I find quite appealing. This set of exposures didn't actually work out for HDR since I moved between shots; in fact, today almost none of my HDRs worked very satisfactorily which is rather unusual. I must be having a wobbly day!

This photo also has 2 people in it (and a bag), so that makes it a step forwards from the last time I photographed this view (here). I've only just realised (when finding the previous version for my link) that I've not only composed the images almost identically, but have also cropped the top off both in the same way... Gawd.

*Sigh*
If all else fails, you can play spot the difference.

Fingers crossed for goslings tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.