... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Mallard Drake

See the water falling from its legs in large ("L").

Today has felt and looked like spring: yay! Warm air, a blue sky with white cloud... It has been surprisingly blustery, but the wind is delightfully warm and fresh.
I was struggling not to feel überexcited (SPRING!), but then I saw a single swallow and that left me feeling a bit more grounded ("One swallow does not a summer make"). Good point, swallow...

I visited Eagle Pond on the way for coffee in the morning; there are still no goslings... *twitch* This afternoon I swung by Mount Pond as well as Eagle Pond, and there were lots of mallard drakes (perhaps 20?) trying to impress only three females: long story short, there was loads of bickering and scrapping going on amongst the males, and the females were pretending to be totally oblivious to all the attention and squabbling. This was one of two drakes chasing a female through the air. Photographically, it was so refreshing to be playing with plenty of light!

p.s. I almost blipped a very pretty little pigeon (perhaps a young one from last year: it was small and totally intact!); it has been quite a while since my last "Familiarity Breeds Contempt" blip...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.