The Wren

By TheWren

L ...... is for Loch Earn

Another sunny but windswept walk on the moor during which time we met several other walkers with dogs, including a 5yr old blue roan cocker spaniel who could easily have been Bruce's twin sister, their markings were so similar.

Then I decided to drive to Loch Earn as I wished to blip it for my "L" of the Alphabet challenge and knew that the rest of the week would be rather busy. Being a sunny Sunday the roads were fairly busy - for up here anyway! - with the majority of road users being motor cyclists as the route past the Loch is on a popular weekend cycle run. Unfortunately there was very little blue sky and definitely no chance of the reflections I was hoping for as there was too much wind. However of all the potential blips I decided on this one as I liked the way the blue sky leads you into the far end of the loch. The smoke on the left hill is probably controlled heather burning.

I haven't blipped this Loch before but will probably do so a few more times during the summer as it is a popular loch for water sports. It is overlooked by Ben Vorlich, which I can see on my regular walks, but today the snow cap disappeared too readily into the sky to make a good blip.

Back home for some more gardening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.