Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Finally no more blue ground!

Today I painted the styrofoam my earth color. Last week I finished the areas I wanted to cover with sculptamold, so yesterday and today was paint day. Not my favorite thing to do but I was anxious to get rid of the "smurf" color for ground. The brown streaks will be roads, modeled as gravel. I will put several colors of scale gravel on top of the paint and glue it down. The dark color is just in case something does not cover so a light spot does not show through. Probably will not see much of the ground or road paint through the final application of ground foam and sand, etc. The roads at the back are 4th, 5th, and 6th streets in Dolores, CO. The town has more than that, but that is what fits and for me is the center of activity - station, warehouses, etc.

Also added recently is a track light system so at least I have plenty of light.

The photo pined to the wall is a test print of a digital photo I took of Dolores. Once I photoshoped out the cars, people, and buildings, I had a clean actual photo of the rock cliff behind the town, that matched the three streets I am modeling. The finished photo is actually 18 feet long, so it will wrap around the rear portion of the layout. I will print the photos on good paper, and glue them to thin foam core. Then cut away the sky and white part, leaving the cliff. This then slides into a slot at the rear of the layout. Once buildings are in front and I add trees and grass at the wall/ground junction, the photo blends into the scenery. At least that is the idea.

Next step is where the fun starts. I cover the painted surfaces with multiple light washes of color - burnt siena, burnt umber, and then some ink/alcohol to bring out the details. Then I can get busy with sand and weeds and small trees, etc. I also plan on using a static grass machine to do grasses. Neat invention. You put white glue on the surface. Plug the applicator into the styrofoam via a pin and wire, turn it on, and grass pieces come out and stick in the glue. The static charge makes them stand up fairly straight so at the end, it looks like grass. We will see!

All the trains are packed away so I don't inadvertently paint them. In a few months I should get a display case I ordered to hold my rolling stock that is not on the railroad. Then I can at least see my collection - if not run them yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.