Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

How about some grass?

Yesterday I tried out my Noch grass master, along with my basic scenery methods. I used a piece of scrap styrofoam for the test. It was painted in the background earth color, and the right end had a thin layer of scultamold with layers of washes. So the left side was just painted styrofoam, the right with painted/washed scultamold.

I am pretty happy with the end result. I used the Noch static grass that came with the applicator. Not crazy about the color so I have ordered a couple of bags of late summer blend, since I model the fall period. So the layers of scenery I used were: a coating of slightly diluted white glue, arizona rock and mineral apache powder, fine ground foam in a very dark green, then more glue (this time scenic cement from Woodland Scenics), the the static grass. Finally sprinkled on some spots of three different colors of very fine ground foam for variety. Finally a little more glue. Yes - lots of glue. But when I vacuum the layout I don't want to suck up my scenery!

I think the result is OK - but when I go to the layout and do this I will use less initial ground foam, maybe not cover it with grass, and limit the sprinkles. It is a little intense and too consistent for what I want to model. But close. I am particularly happy with the fact that even tho I have several colors of wash underneath, you can't see the changes.

So next step - do the whole layout. I will limit the coverage where I know there will be buildings, but I am ready. The static grass is really a great product. It is 2 mm high and while you can't really see it n the photo, in person you can make out individual blades standing tall. OK - short. My kind of lawn.

Once this base layer is on, I will add tuffs of higher weeds, cat tails, etc etc. Nothing is consistent in nature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.