What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Blipmeet!

And all I have is a picture of some old rope!

Well, that and about a hundred other photos I managed to take before the camera battery went flat - doh! On the bright side that did then allow St3f and Martin a chance to mock me mercilessly by taking photos I would have liked to have taken in the second part of the meet!

Well today was a fun day that started with a nice, long lie-in following yesterday's karaoke extravaganza and general madness. After that me and Stef went off to see 'The Cabin in the Woods'. You'll notice I've not linked to a trailer, because this is a film for which you should definitely, definitely avoid spoilers! This is also going to make it difficult to review, so I'm just going to list some of my favourite bits of the film:

- First off, the writing - it's sharp, witty and incredibly clever.
- Second, the casting - perfect to a note, everyone is brilliant in their role be it comic, serious, bit-part of awesomeness or leading star.
- Third, the music - it was like it was living up to my expectations on purpose!
- Fourth, it's a Whedon/Goddard comedy-horror-action-thriller of brilliance :-D

So you should all go see that (be warned, it is a horror and the rating is deserved!)

Post the film it was off to the Blipmeet in the Cambridge botanical gardens, where (after parking at the wrong entrance but in the office car park) St3f and I met: blast, SkyRider, BikerBear, Cheeseminer, Arkensielphoto, GrumpyOldGit, Missymoo, Ripitup, Martinalexrolph, Mollyblobs, and Swampy316.

Between the bunch of us we managed a good meander through the gardens, and a most thorough exploration of the cafe while it was raining/sunny/raining outside - lots of chatting about Blip, photomarathon and other crazy challenges (turns out St3f and I weren't the only NaNoers there!). In fact it's now been suggested that St3f try and organise a 2013 Photomarathon in Cambridge... and I'm on the committee? All in all it was great fun and really nice to meet some real live Blippers and swap stories, tips, ideas and useful advice for how to work with the wrong hand!

It all wrapped up with a not-so-fun part of the day - watching my beloved Spurs get a darn good thrashing at the hands of Chelsea. The final score was 5-1, but it probably should have been 4-1 (you'll read about that) and Chelsea had a couple more players than they should have as well...

The rest of the evening has been far more satisfactory - catching up on Blips, getting a whole load of new journals to subscribe to sorted out, and watching the second half of 'Being Human' season one - TV awesomeness!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.