Maggie's B-E-D time

The purpose of tonight's blip is to record Maggie's bed routine. A bed routine for a CAT? I hear you say. But hear me out....

About 3 years ago Maggie was driving us crazy in the night. It was like having a new baby. She scratched to come into our room; she wanted to play; she scratched at the window to go out; she scratched her claws down the window pane to come back in; she wanted to be fed; she amused herself by flicking the drawer handles so they pinged; she lay on our legs; wanted to get in the bed; get out of the bed....get the picture?

I decided to lock her up in the garage at night but I didn't want her eating the car tyres in boredom so...I ordered a modified rabbit hutch. This is the little home shown here. the enclosed bit is nicely snug with an sheep skin, some old jerseys of mine and, wait for it, a pet electric blanket (only for the colder nights of winter you understand!)

I thought I'd have to throw her in and slam down the lid each night but from day one she has LOVED it and every night from about 9pm she waits and watches me, ready to run down the hall when I say "Bedtime Maggie".

She runs ahead me of, jumps in and anxiously waits for me to grab a handful of biscuits and put them in her plate. She tucks in, I shut the lid and everyone is happy until the morning.

All joking aside, I think this has helped her deal with the quakes. Many pets have suffered with the more violent shakes and I know of people whose cats have just disappeared or have become very frightened.

I am not actually a mad cat woman although you may now be entitled to think that after reading this, but this wee routine does makes me smile every night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.