Penguin Droppings

By gen2

OMG! Aliens Have Landed.


I was up at Birnie Loch at lunchtime and caught a flash of white moving in the bushes.
I asked myself what small bird has a white crown and white behind the eyes? Could it be some alien invader?

Of course not.

A few crushed peanuts tempted it closer where I was able to photograph it and it then became obvious that it was a less than perfect robin!

So what is wrong with the poor mite?
I have Googled it and found several suggestions. Because the feather-loss is more or less confined to the areas that the beak cannot reach, I'm inclined to think it might be mites or another parasite that is to blame.

I just hope that it survives and will be keeping an eye out for it when I next visit the reserve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.