Grumpy Old Git

By GrumpyOldGit

Pitcher Plant

I really enjoyed my participation in yesterday's Cambridge Blip Meet, to meet other Blippers and find that we all had so much in common. I was also pleasantly surprised that I was actually able to walk about for most of the day, keeping up with everyone else, particularly with tea and cakes. Today I feel much better than I deserve to expected to, but I am still not very active. I was wondering what to Blip today, when I came across Mollyblobs picture of a carnivorous flower taken at the meet and thought that a picture of the carnivorous pitcher plant that hangs just inside one of our kitchen windows might make a good picture.

Our plant is not at its best at this time of year, it re-absorbs the pitcher along with any insects captured, at times when its growth rate is fairly slow; like recently. This means that most large older pitchers are wrinkled and brown, but there are a few small new pitchers growing, one of which is pictured. The drops on the bottom of the pitcher appear to be some of its nectar, which encourage insects to the plant; it is certainly sticky and difficult to remove when it gets on the front of the lens! The brown and green blur on the right is one of the older pitchers in the process of being re-absorbed and the green blur above left is the bottom of another.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.