Raspberryberet

By AprilJane

In Memoriam

Saw this stall outside a house near me on my way home from my run this morning.

It had an honesty box, and a sign saying 'Help yourself - voluntary donations to Elleray Hall [a centre for older people in Teddington] in memory of my Grandmother who died in December.'

I am like a moth to a flame when it comes to a stall of bric-a-brac, and so took several plates and dishes. I found I had £4.75 in change in my pocket, which would have more than covered it at charity shop prices, but I found the sign incredibly moving somehow, and snuck back later and put another £4.00 in.

Chris was stoic in the face of me being able to go out for a run round Bushey Park and still manage to come back with a load of second-hand junk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.