Raspberryberet

By AprilJane

Bubeleh

There are so many things I want to make at the moment, and for a long time I've been planning to embroider the word 'Bubeleh' on something (it's one of my pet terms of endearment for the children, particularly Betsy). I also found this oval frame recently, and wanted to do something with it (it had a picture of a tragic looking bird in it).

I found a really lovely piece of ancient broderie anglaise in my stash, and put the three together. It has ended up with quite an eligiac look about it, which I kind of like. The photo also makes it look massive, it's only about twenty centimetres tall.

Another word I love is 'Mizpah' which has a fabulously depressing biblical quality to it and means 'The Lord watch between me and thee when we are absent from one another' which is sort of nice but also kind of creepy. The sort of thing I like!

Chris doesn't like it much. But he is pretending he does, which is making me laugh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.