Turning Point

By MamaFi

Auf Wiedersehen :(

Susanne is winging her way back to Germany as I write. We managed to take the cableway to the top of Table Mountain this morning. Susanne had climbed up Skeleton Gorge in heavy rain with Russ on Saturday, but I wanted her to see the view on a clear day. The queues for tickets were off putting but they moved quickly - I was told that up to 8000 visitors a day can be accommodated!

I remember using the old cable cars which weren't completely enclosed like nowadays. There are a couple on display at the entrance and they look quite dangerous by today's standards - at least you could take great photos rather than my distorted ones taken through scratched windows. We enjoyed the views from the top and even spotted a dassie.

It has been good getting to know Susanne - I don't recall ever having had such an appreciative guest!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.