The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

No news

Perhaps I should give our male blackbird a name as EmyJane has with her bird, Elgar. Maybe I should continue the musical theme and call him Ralph (after Vaughan Williams), his flutey song wouldn't be out of place in the Pastoral Symphony. And here he is two days in a row, this one shows that he has brown outer tail feathers as well as the brown on his wings. He is a most distinctive bird.

I am posting this as I didn't have a lot of time for photographs today. I seemed to spend most of my time on trains between meetings. By the time I arrived home, the sunshine was replaced by a blanket of cloud that rolled in from the west.

Yes, I went straight to the garden to see if there were any signs of Reg. Alas, there was none. No more movements, and his plate of cherry tomatoes untouched. We're trying not to feel despondent.

I am leaving comments off tonight, and I'm afraid I shall be comment light myself. I need an early night. Thank you all for your thoughts and wishes for Reg, I'm sorry I can't bring news of a miraculous reappearance today.

ps I have just noticed the blip from a year ago. The comment by Molly (Amalarian - Tuscany) was one of her classics, a piece of powerful writing that I have never forgotten.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.