LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Arrival

Arrived in Faro just in time for the Sun to go down on what is predicted to the last decent day of weather for the whole week we are here.

A very long day of travel that started at 8 with a trip to the gym, then some last minute shopping before heading off to the station for the train journey from Edinburgh to Newcastle. Aout 20 minutes out I had a sudden flash of my camera battery plugged into its charger at home and a quick check revealed that I had indeed left both the charger and the battery behind. There ensued a frantic googling of Newcastle camera shops.

On arrival in Newcastle I headed off to the extremely good Bonsers in the Bigg Market who furnished me with a battery and universal charger for £59, which was a stal considering what I could have paid had they only had Olympus branded goods.

We then head up to the airport where I proceeded to throw various shades of barbecue sauce all over my clothes as we eat lunch.

A rather uneventful 3 hour flight later and we were picking up our bags and car for the drive to Portimao. After last year being an almost identical holiday it was amazing how quickly time the drive out was. I even still had the hotel as a destination in my satnav and we stopped at the supermarket down the road for some essentials (pork, prawns, clams, choricau, bacon, wine) and then relaxed into our familiar surroundings and got slightly plastered, having not had a drink all day (the only problem with the late fight and picking up the car of course).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.