Life in Serene Waves

I thought I'd do a little research about this city I'm temporarily calling home. About 7,605,700 people live in Ningbo, a city whose history dates back to 4800 BC. That's an old city, even by Chinese standards. The characters in its name literally translate to "Serene Waves," which, as a coastal city with major trade ports, seems appropriate. I haven't actually gotten to the ocean yet, so I don't know if the waves here are serene or choppy, but I'll take their word for it.

On another walk along the river, I found this woman burning weeds and brush on the path outside her garden. Contrary to popular belief, this isn't a witch's broom, it's just an Asian one. In Thailand our brooms look very similar. Made out of stiff twigs tied together, they actually work very well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.