Off Centre

By RachelCarter

A bit of everything

Another one of my speedy, snap-and-go shots with no thinking, tidying or editing. I'm looking forward to a time when I can spend some time thinking about what I'm doing when I take photos and can learn how to edit them.

We're watching The Hairy Bikers in Italy (starting in Venice) and it's making me think about the often unchallenged yet idiotic British work ethic.
Work? yes. But until we're too tired or too old to enjoy life or our families? Hmmmm....
It's not something to admire. It's crazy.
I nagged my parents to take off and enjoy the holiday in Venice they'd always dreamed of before it was too late and they finally did go just before Dad got very ill. They just could not allow themselves to go for decades. Why are we like that?

The bit of everything title doesn't just describe the weather and the sky, it also describes my day.
I feel as if I'm batting against a ball machine recently and am hitting more balls than I usually do but one or two are going way off court and getting me into trouble.
Doing too much often backfires for me. I'm better doing one or two things well and not stressing about how much I might be getting wrong.
I've always been a perfectionist and doing a lot very quickly seems like cheating, underachieving and underperforming to me.

I'd love to live in a time and place where everyone was known for doing one thing well and no one tried to be a superhero, a billionaire or a headless chicken. Once people start getting big ideas cracks start to appear. And when people see others flying around like maniacs they assume they should be doing that too. It's not true - we weren't built for flying.

So things have come together today and things have come apart. I've been dealing with about 75 people via email and managed to offend one, confuse another and hopefully not annoy the others too much.
I guess it's been a successful day on the whole but I always notice where I could have done better and that will be what dominates my thoughts and clouds my happiness at 3am.

If you want to make yourself useful, you could help me with my poll: The Title Factor

No headache. This is good news.
Wine.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.