The day the UK went completely nuts

I have avoided the media all day in the hope of avoiding the sycophantic reports of Thatcher's funeral. I don't understand it. I really don't. And Nick Robinson is so incredibly right wing that there is no chance of any impartial reporting from the BBC. It's like they are pretending there isn't massive, large scale apathy to the funeral and objection to the cost and hype. Why?!

I even plumped for cheesy, awful, crap, commercial, jingly radio with terrible music in the car to avoid the BBC news.

Richard and I went to the garden centre to get plant supports and manure. We had lunch and took our time. I was pleased that many other people were not glued to their TVs or radios and were getting on with life. We then planned the position for our new raspberry plants, did digging and manure spreading and mixing, and I earthed up my potato bed. I wanted to do more but the wind was too strong and the gardening fairy tells me not to plant things in a strong wind.

Instead I sowed yet more seeds in trays to go in the garage.

I made a yellow curry tonight with sweet potatoes, chick peas, babycorn, yellow peppers and coconut cream and everyone ate it! Even the fussy ones!

We've just watched the film: The Spirit of '45. I found it really interesting and moving - and hopeful too.

Then Richard put on the 10 o'clock news and within seconds I was swearing at the TV. I've left the room and am writing this in the dining room.

I don't need to hear any more bollocks about that awful woman's awful funeral, and the lies. So many lies...
What an insulting load of crazy nonsense.

I'll never stop being cross about growing up in the 80s, about how the culture and mood of the time played a part in shaping who I became in my late teens and early twenties. I've had to fight against the greedy, commercial, appearance and possession-obsessed world ever since. I loathe what Thatcher did to this country.

The Spirit of '45 was about exactly the opposite and that's what I'm hanging onto: that people still believe in the welfare state and healthcare and fighting poverty. And that most of us know what's really important and simply want to live in a fairer society.


The people on the TV news today are just pretend. If I were Fiona Bruce I would have refused to read it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.