Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

ECG Machine!

Backblipped on 18th April 2012

I went to Scharwenka's for lunch today! He'd been playing with a new project - a home made ECG machine! This is what retired professors are doing these days apparently!!!

Yes, ever the scientist and electronics whizz, he'd made this groovy little machine following instructions on the internet, and had then used it to record heartbeats during ordinary beating and also during atrial fibrillation! The only substitution he'd made from the instructions was to use pennies rather than 1 cent pieces, since he didn't have any 1 cent pieces to hand!

Rather amusingly, once the machine is plugged into the computer, but when the electrodes aren't attached, the little recorder in the computer programme advises: CALL 911, YOU MAY BE DEAD!

Anyway, Scharwenka tried the machine out on me, and I was very relieved to discover that I wasn't dead. In fact, he got very excited because my heart beat gave a really nice trace, so we did some analysis and a few sums and discovered that I'm apparently very much alive!

WATCH OUT WORLD!!!!! ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.