View from the croft gate

By Croftcrafts

Twins

I planned not to put another lamb on today and when I was down in Scourie getting more blood removed I had a look round and found a nice view, some highland cows and a wild flower but I am so proud of these twins I just had to put them on.
As I said a visit to Scourie then on to Kinlochbervie for supplies and back home. I dropped hubby of in Scourie at the start of the path over to Tarbet as we have lost nine sheep and he thought they were out there somewhere. He arrived back with no trace of them but Rodger the ferry man said they saw them from the boat at the waterfall and they would take hubby and the dogs and drop them off at the waterfall. After he had something to eat he went off giving me instructions to go out on the croft and look to see if I could find a ewe with twins. I searched the croft and couldn't fins any but I found this ewe pushing and trying to deliver twins. I watched her and much to my horror I noticed only one leg and a head coming out and knew that she wouldn't be able to lamb without help. She was lying down so I walked up to her and she stayed down so I pulled the lamb out gave it's nose a poke with a bit of grass and it started breathing. She started to clean the lamb so I stood in the pouring rain watching and wondered how I was going to get the second lamb out as she was now standing up and there was no way I could turn her over. As she cleaned the lamb I checked if there were any feet feet coming and there was one and then I managed to get the second one so I pulled the legs and the lamb was in a breech position which is not good as you have to deliver very quickly or it will not live. A gave it a huge long pull and the lamb came out, cleaned it's face and poked a piece of grass up it's nose and it started breathing. I was delighted. This is the first time I have lambed on my own. I was chuffed to bits. I left them for her to get on with cleaning them.
I spotted a sheep on the horizon on the hill opposite the croft and thought that hubby must be near with the sheep. Eventually I saw them with Rodger, Paul and Adam helping.They were trying to get them through the gate but they just wouldn't go. Eventually they gave up and decided to try again tomorrow. As a thank you all of them came up to the house for a dram and we all had a jolly good laugh. Tomorrow is another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.