earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Bantry Bay Breaker

Breaking Big

I'm posting this from Ilkley having arrived back after midnight following a long journey home from West Cork. The weather today was as dramatic as the day I arrived just under a week ago. It was a kind of reprise of the sunshine and showers with which I started my trip and which will be my abiding memory: incredible clouds and huge skies punctuated by periods of sunshine throwing this wild and beautiful landscape under the most intense light. The other lasting memory will, of course, be the fantastic hospitality of the people here and getting to know some truly amazing and inspiring new friends, not least TJ herself. This is one very special and remarkable lady!

The plan today was to explore an area on the far north-west side of the Sheepshead Peninsular known as the Crimea. I cycled out there and met TJ at the start of the route. Much of the walk hugged the coast and offered the most spectacular cliff scenery, the waves crashing against the rocks below.

This is an area that was once home to a mining community with many ruins and old mine shafts in evidence. We were speculating as to what kind of life these people had out here. It's hard to imagine it being anything other than a very harsh kind of existence but it's impossible to really know for sure. The stories of the daily lives of these people is almost entirely lost to us.

After finishing the walk I continued the coastal circuit on the bike, returning via Balyroon, Kilcrohane and Ahakista, getting back just in time for a wonderful lunch prepared by TJ and Rachel. I can honestly say that I've never eaten such incredibly good food as I have this last week. I think I needed some nourishment on this break, and I have had that in abundance. I'm nourished in mind, nourished in body and nourished in spirit!

This shot was taken from the Cove, looking back to the headland we've just walked over, with Bear Island in the distance on the other side of Bantry Bay. It captures the feel of the day better than any other photograph I took. I think my blips from this trip provide some feel for the magic of this place. I hope so. You won't be surprised if I say that more than a little bit of my heart has been left behind!

PS I also have to say that I've felt totally nourished by my fellow blippers while I've been away. You people are quite amazing in the wonderful comments and all the stars and hearts you have left for me to read during this break. For now, until I can get around to you individually, I can only offer one huge THANK YOU!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.