earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Reconnection

It's been hard getting back to work today. Is there such a thing as over-nourishment? !! Just as I experienced on my last trip back from West Cork, my mind and spirit are lagging way behind my body on the journey home to Yorkshire. As always, so many little jobs to get done, but very little desire to crack on with them with so many wonderful experiences to be relived and stored away in the memory.

It's not really occurred to me before, but that period of reverie following happy events could well be driven by the desire to lay down memories that will not easily be over-written with the normal quotidian details of our lives. So today, rather than get frustrated with my inability to focus on the jobs in hand, I've tried to embrace my day-dreaming as the most important job I had to get done today - more important even than catching up with journals here. I hope you'll forgive me that one?

I went up on the moor for a gentle run this evening, to reconnect, something I always try to do after I get back from a trip away. It's been a rather dismal day, but whatever the weather the moor always seems to throw up a blip for me. The forecast for the weekend is pretty dismal too (which goes without saying really since it marks the start of the cricket season) so I doubt I'll be tempted to go too far on the bike - which should finally give me an opportunity to reconnect with my blip mates here. I really look forward to that. It's a little overdue!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.