The Wren

By TheWren

High on a hill

Bruce would like to thank everyone for their stars and hearts on yesterday's blip. He was pleased as punch!

Although rain was forecast for today the morning was dry so I decided to go up to Loch Turret reservoir to see how the recent rain had affected the levels. There were several ewes in the maternity fields as I drove higher and then I came across a fairly large herd of Highland cattle with their young. I stopped to take several photos, all the time keeping the car door open and watching the mums in case they became anxious and started to come towards me. I know, I am a wimp, but they do have large horns!

I then moved on a bit further up the hill and came across another group and duly stopped again. It was then that I noticed that a very large whitish Highland had her back to me but was standing stoically in the middle of the road just in front of gates which I needed to open, drive through, and then close again. Deciding that caution was the better part of valour I abandoned the idea of going right up to the loch. It was then that I glanced up and saw this female highlighted against the sky, staring down at me. She was duly blipped and you can see the large white Highland and the gate in the blip at the left of the shot. I managed to turn the car on the single track road after several attempts and proceeded back down the hill only to find one of the original herd coming towards me on the road with an enormous pair of horns. I wisely decided against stopping to blip her and managed to drive very slowly past, keeping one eye on her horns and the other on the steepish drop at the other side of the road.

Cara and Bruce by this time were beside themselves thinking that any hopes of their walk were fast receding as I returned down the hill and into the town. However they relaxed once I turned into the familiar route and we had a great walk on the moor again with the rain still keeping away until we reached home again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.