Patrona

By patrona

Peek a Boo

Day two of my tummy upset has limited my movements again, but has given me an opportunity.

For the last week or so I have been increasingly frustrated at the inconvenient and uncooperative behaviour of the local fauna. I sit in the garden and hear the woodpeckers playing tympani in the wood but can I spy one, let alone find one in a position to photograph, can I heck. The same goes for the owl who plays will o wisp at night his hoot like a sonar supposedly indicating his location, but never showing himself.

But most frustrating of all is the flirtatious behaviour of the hoopoes, they perch on the window ledge and tap on the glass but the slightest movement to raise a phone or point a camera has them making a speedy exit, legging it like a ten year old in Woolworths who has just raided the sweetie counter.

Today during an hail storm I spied one young bird who was obviously sheltering from the downpour under the eaves d was so preoccupied he didn't notice my stalking him. I still didn't get a good shot but it was the best I could do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.