Pixel Smiths

By pixelsmiths

Lake Hawea

Tomorrow I will all but circumnavigate this lake, on my bike. I'm doing the "classic", only 95km and yep, to the end and back, then finishing at Hawea. Will be pretty epic.

I spent the day doing two things mainly. The first was trying to recover from the last 3 days, lots of time in the spa to ease my muscles and light massage. Hmm, note to self, never do a 3 day tramp up big mountains just before an event. Dumb, but it was such good family time I'd do it again, it's only a race ...

The second was maintaining my bike. Took the tyres off, replaced one, replaced the tubes. Had some issues with tyre balance, fixed that. Interestingly also, had water in the rims, never had that before. Then cleaning the drive drain, it's sparking now. And then getting gear together. Going to be somewhere between 6 and 7 hours on the bike, so safety gear aside, I need a lot of food. My choice this race; bars, jam sammies, jubes and a couple of spare gels.

Going to try and get to be early tonight, after my last spa for the day, then up around 5am. 7am start and it's 45 mins away.

Night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.