The Kiltwalk

By thekiltwalk

More Hot Men in Kilts, where do I Register?

Let me start by saying that if you're planning to take part in The Speyside Kiltwalk, registration close on Sunday 22nd April, so don't delay as it's going to be a fantastic event and we've ordered the sunshine too!!

Today's Blipfoto is the story of one girl and her quest to meet the 'Kilted' man of her dreams, or as Ashley Adamson puts it "Hotties in Kilts".

Now before I go any further, I don't 'actually' know if Ashley is genuinely looking for a bloke, however I won't let that ruin my story and one things for sure, there's no denying that she does genuinely like "Hotties in Kilts" if her tweets are anything to go by.

In fact Ashley likes "Hotties in Kilts" soooo much, then after taking part in the Hampden to Loch Lomond Kiltwalk, she went home immediately, fired up the laptop and registered for the Speyside Kiltwalk.

So can I say to the men of Speyside, "Ashley loved all of us", so don't let her down. Make sure you've had plenty of porridge and a few trips down the gym wouldn't go a miss, as you've a lot to live up too ?

All joking aside, Ashley is quite something and she has certainly caught the Kiltwalk bug and has decided she wants to keep raising money for our fantastic charity. So she's all sorted with accommodation and only needs to book the train journey, because last time as she couldn't physically drive the next day, so she's not taking a chance.

So who have we got to thank for Ashley, well it's a mixture of a broken CD player and our good old friends at Real Radio who snagged her way back at the beginning of January, so we're extremely grateful to them and we're just delighted that Ashley is a "Real Radio" listener, otherwise she might have slipped through our fingers.

However that's enough from me and I'll let Ashley tell you her "Real" story.

"It all started on the day of the high winds back in January when my CD player broke at work, which meant we were listening to Real Radio!

It was on Real Radio that I heard an advert for the Hampden to Loch Lomond Kiltwalk and before I knew it I was on line 'googling' away and within ten minutes I had not only registered myself, I'd also managed to get another four staff on board!

I then managed to get my friend Nicole to take part, and it was definitely the thought of Hotties in Kilts that swayed her too (Nicole is also doing Speyside).

This was our first Kiltwalk and although we had trained hard before hand, nothing prepares you for how difficult it's going to be!


The day it's self started out well and we were all happy and full of energy, however that changed 7 miles in when we genuinely thought we had hit a brick wall and feared we were not going to get any further as we certainly didn't appear to be getting anywhere fast.

Then the rain started, which we actually didn't mind as it cooled us down and let us get into our stride.

The next hard part was the 20 mile mark, but after that the sweeties were handed out and we got the sugar rush, we managed to plough on. Those sweets were the best sweets ever.

We all crossed the finish line together and I can honestly say I've never experienced emotion like it in my life. After tears of joy and hugs I walked straight into the beer tent, and had the best pint of Tennents ever!

As we were standing enjoying the beer, we were asked if we fancied taking part in the Great Wall of China Kiltwalk and trust me, after 26 miles the first thing that goes through your head is ARE YOU SERIOUS, and then say the words "I will never, ever, ever again do another one".

Needless to say after the pain had gone, or perhaps it was the alcohol flowing through my blood, I signed up for the Speyside walk, with Nicole, as she is also mad!

So girls the moral of my story is, "if you're finding it tough at any point, just do what Nicole and I did and think about the good causes you're fund raising for. We work in a nursery and as the charities are all children's charities the parents were very generous and very supportive! Those thoughts will get you through the first 20 miles or so. As for the last 6 miles, well just think about all those "Hotties in Kilts" and you'll finish those in no time at all.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.