The Blackcountry Man

By brickmaker

The Pacific side of the Panama Canal Locks....

We had a fantastic day today and for me it started early as I wanted a grandstand place to watch us go down the Panama Canal I got up at 6:30am and went up to the front of the ship only to find I was beaten by real enthusiastic folks such as Chinese, Germans, and some Americans, they were up at 05:30 to get the best places.
I managed to get a ringside seat for the first locks only to be ordered off by security, they didn't think balancing on one foot on a railing was safe.
We took almost 9 hours to transit the whole 51 miles of locks, lakes and river from the Pacific Ocean to the Atlantic/Caribbean Ocean, we dock in Colon tonight and spend a day there tomorrow.
BTW we think that Red ship hit the side of the locks on the Atlantic side.
We also saw the most enormous Crocodiles on the bank as we exited the Atlantic side.
I will post more images on Flickr once home.

Only four days left of our holiday, all too soon it comes to an end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.