A surprise find

On our monthly road trip across Ohio, we stopped in to visit with one of the oldest members of our church. Jean is now 94 years old and living in an assisted living facility. The last time we visited her I noticed this antique piano. For many years, from age seven until I was a sophomore in college, I took piano lessons, playing mostly classical music, so this instrument caught my eye. However, I must have been tired that night because I didn't have the presence of mind to blip it. Today I was determined that it would be the blip.

For those of you who are interested in antiques, especially pianos, here is the history of the piano. It had been framed and placed nearby:
Our piano's history, while sketchy, consists of many years on the Mississippi River Queen. You will notice a mark on the side where the piano rubbed against the boat for many years. This piano also spent several years in a Colorado Opera House. It was found, with all its original parts, in the storage room of a music store in Newark, Ohio, and placed in the lobby of (our facility) where it would be embraced and appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.