Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

I would have missed...

I would have missed the flowering of the blackcurrants if I hadn't heard the frantic buzzing of the bumble bees as I was weeding nearby. Spent some time trying to get a decent image, but this was the best of the bunch. It makes me even more in awe of you folks who turn out such wonderful bumble images. Any hints?

After these exertions, I sunbathed on the deck. I lazily opened one eye to see a mean weather system moving smartly in from the west. Had to move smartly myself to get the camera inside before the thunderstorm arrived with a thud of hailstones.

After the pond skaters yesterday, and the bummlers* today, I am keen to improve and increase my minibeast collection. I have some rather fine spiders, but for the sake of a beloved arachnaphobe, this page will remain a spider free zone - which is a pity as not only are they astonishing up close, they also pose so well.

*Bummler: Geordie for bumble bee

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.