Life on the edge...

By bru22

Just around the corner...

This morning, I was stopped by a police car about 100 yards away from my work. I was completely unaware that my MOT had run out quite a while ago now and thus, my car should not be on the road...

So after avoiding any points on my licence (Goodness only knows how! - I should have had 3 points for every failed tyre = 9 points...) I got off with a - lets face it - measly £60.00 fine.

Maybe today is my unlucky lucky day. (Yes, I have since bought a lottery ticket)

So... my car is now parked up in my driveway and I am not allowed to move it until 7am on Monday morning when I take it into the garage...

I decided this afternoon, instead of my usual jaunt to somewhere sandy to run off some calories, I would go for a walk starting at my front door, in Oldmeldrum.

I moved here in September 2011 and apart from walking to the local shop to stock up on my diet of Lucozade and pick 'n' mix I have never actually checked it out. I literally sleep here and travel from here to everywhere and anywhere else. Why have I never looked just around the corner...?!

Garioch Distillery is literally on my door step hence the photograph taken along the side of the Mash House. It actually reeks down there! I have only ever driven through it and never smelt it! It reminds me of the days I worked as a Lab Technician at Glencore (Now W.N.Lindsay) Grain Store, Brechin, Angus.

I remember waking up at 6am every day for harvest for 4 years to climb in the back of a HGV lorry and spear it in the pouring rain just to get enough Barley to then sit and chop 100 grains in half for every lorry load that came in...

Oh boy, that was a tedious job. My OCD loved it. My new found obsession with numbers loved it and so did my waist line when I had to climb up the sheds of grain to check for beasties...! It's not as easy as it sounds! 1 step up 3 metre slide down...!

Today, I have had a bit of a reality check and am now away to clean the cobwebs out... From my house as well as my life, maybe change things around a bit and start a fresh on Monday morning.

I will probably find some bits of barley still lurking in the ridges of my wellies...!!

It gets everywhere..!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.