Mr Froggie went a Courting

The torrential rain yesterday has resulted in water in the pond by my cottage, that has been dry all winter.

Today there are frogs, lots of them, doing what frogs do in the spring, and for the first time ever I heard the males croaking.
Whether they will spawn successfully remains to be seen.

Which brings me on to all the frogs we met in Yorkshire. Did they remain as frogs or did any of them turn into princes?

The Irish man with the helicopter returned to Ireland, and has not been heard of (by us anyway) since.
Likewise the cowboy.

The young farmer, however, was totally smitten by the girl with the titian ringlets and called me a few weeks later to see if I had heard from her. Sadly, for him, I hadn't and I thought that was the end of it. But a while later he called me again to say he had booked a flight to America to go and find her.

"The thing is, Mandy, I've never been abroad before, and I don't even know how to get to Heathrow"
"That's not a problem." I said. "Catch a train down here, and I'll take you to Heathrow."
"But my flight is at 6 a.m"
"Don't worry come down the evening before, we'll go out for dinner, you can stay here and I'll get you there early enough for the flight."

There is only one decent restaurant near here, so I booked a table for two. I met him off the train, and we went straight to the restaurant. It was just my luck that one of the administrators from my work was also dining there with her husband and another couple.

By the time we got to pudding, my colleague could contain herself no longer and came over to speak to us. The young farmer, who was finding the evening rather stressful, excused himself and went to the loo.

"Amanda, you kept quiet about this"
I explained the situation to her and told her he was a bit quiet and nervous. At which point she said:
"Look there is a guy at the bar on his own that looks more your type, I'll hold the fort with Farmer Giles, you go and talk to him"

Egged on by the wine, I went over and said: "Hello, my friend thinks I might find you more interesting than my dinner companion... Come and join us for coffee." And he did!

The next morning I took the farmer to Heathrow in good time for his flight. He never contacted me to say thanks, or to let me know what happened, so for all I know he may still be in Virginia!!!

The guy from the restaurant became a great friend. No romance, but a really good mate. We meet up regularly for a drink and a curry and put the world to rights.

Now, if you're keeping up with events from the past two blips, you'll know, that only leaves the Frog who wants to make love in a horse-drawn hearse. But you'll just have to wait until tomorrow, because I'm off out with the Bitch Pack this evening.


Here's the song I've been singing all afternoon!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.