Turning Point

By MamaFi

The Old Biscuit Mill

I feel very lucky to have Kathy come and help with household chores on Saturdays when we're here in Cape Town. The only downside is that she arrives very early and spends the first hour or so creeping around so as not to wake everyone. We usually work together but I left her this morning to join the others for a late breakfast at The Old Biscuit Mill in Woodstock.

I was surprised to learn that this was Russell's first experience of the vibrant Saturday market. Once we'd entered the throng, it wasn't long before he was swept into sampling the delicious local produce and wondering why he hadn't been before. I'm not going to try to describe this place in words as I wouldn't do it justice, but be sure to go if ever the opportunity arises.

In the afternoon, Russell and Hamish played golf at Steenberg while I accompanied Fizz over to Constantia village to buy some beaded flowers for her flat. There is a group of men there who craft all sorts of ornaments out of wire and tiny beads. Ian must be their best customer because they've named him 'The Captain'! I ended up buying a beaded cow and ordering some cockerels which I've been asked to bring home.

Lorien came to the house for a cup of tea. She wanted to say goodbye to Fizz who's leaving tomorrow after spending almost two months of her qualifying leave here. Hamish and I are following the day after - this last week has gone by in a flash. I'll be so sad to bid farewell to Russ until October.

As we're missing Russ's birthday on Tuesday and this is our last evening together for some time, we went to The Alphen for supper. I haven't been there for years but other family members have recently acquainted themselves with The Rose Bar. There was an amusing incident with our waiter, Bradley. He mentioned that he had worked on cruise liners in the past. I wondered if he'd happened to have come across a piano player called Bruce. He asked if it was Big Bruce (!) and went on to describe someone who we believe to be our friend! We had a lovely time, although I felt out of place next to the other diners who appeared to be....well, everything that I'm not!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.