Duck House

Two shelducks and the Barns Ness Lighthouse at Skateraw, East Lothian.

Big House. Can you see the shelducks? Flying in, bottom left.

It was a beautiful evening - I've slightly straightened and cropped this but otherwise it's the JPG off the camera. Well done camera :)

I spent the day clearing out the house again. More space has been discovered, more things are in the bin, there's less cobwebs and I found a CD I lost ages ago. Very satisfying, but very dull.

So, I went out on the bike about 5 and headed south to Skateraw, also known as Whitesands. I timed it just right as the big clouds rolled in from the East (lots of Easterly winds recently, very unusual) and the rain came on as I headed home.

There's been a lot of activity on this shore in the past so there's ruined limekilns and abandoned little harbours cut into the rock all along.

The rock itself is dead interesting, but I haven't learned about it yet. All along the shore are weather-worn "East Lothian Geology Trail" signs which are pretty hard to read so I internet-ed but ... There's no information on that specifically. There are walking guides like this one but I think I'll have to try harder to find something on East Lothian geology. James Hutton made his big discoveries just south of here at Siccar Point, so it's historic stuff (if you're interested, The Man Who Found Time is a good read about Hutton). I think the best overall I found tonight was a Lothian and Borders Geology overview from SNH. I'll start from there.

More from today on Flickr. (And I had to renew my Flickr Pro account today, which is my 5th year!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.