A Bunch of Bunkers

Dunbar from the beach south east of Dunbar, East Lothian.

Big Bunker.

Much the same as yesterday - I spent the day cleaning and clearing the house until about 5, when I jumped on the bike. I headed south again and got home 4 hours later.

It really was one of those "hold up the camera, close your eyes and snap" evenings. Just lovely. Apart from the golfers. There's a few more on Flickr.

On the way home I followed the John Muir Way which is marked along the beach by the "other" golf course (the one you pay to join) with red poles and BIG SIGNS from the golf club making it clear that you are not welcome at all, but they can't stop you. But they would if they could. Well, I'm considerate of the oh-so-precious concentration required by these elitist gits but they can't bring themselves to acknowledge that I waited for the big man to hit the little ball with the metal stick. Aren't golfers weird? They play an outdoor sport in indoor clothes with big umbrellas. No other outdoor sport uses umbrellas because they blow away. Every other outdoor sport has weatherproof clothing instead of lambswool jumpers. And golfers hate all other people they come across in the outdoors. In all other outdoor activities, if you meet someone you say hello and smile. And when did you ever see a golfer with a camera? Despite their courses being in lovely places - like this.

A poor life this if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.

Leisure

I'm sure if they could play golf indoors they would. Which would be great for the rest of us.

I actually saw 2 grown men repeatedly hitting balls (old ones I presume) from the golf course across the road I was riding along and into the lake at the quarry. If it was young lads doing that the police would be round straight away. Oh, but they probably were the police.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.