Free Beer

Herring gulls clamouring for the scraps from the Arcturus as the Spitfore pulls into Dunbar Harbour.

Big Beer

There's no beer in the picture, but I went for one (or two) afterwards to chat about Pugsleys with Davey the local Pugs expert. I decided I'm going to get myself a Pugsley Black Ops. Ho. yus.

The reference to Free Beer is an old computing concept - "Free as in free speech, not as in free beer". This abstract concept is espoused by the FSF and I agree with them.

But what's happened now is that the really big beasts have weighed in, bought companies which promoted free software, and screwed everybody up. Here: Oracle suing Google for using Java in Android. This is a big deal, dull as it may seem. And it can be stopped by the US government stopping Software Patents, as have the EU.

Sleep well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.