just allan

By allan

Oysterous

Oyster catchers flying through Tyninghame Bay, East Lothian. The tide was at its lowest and just turning so I got as close to the middle of the bay as I could. There were shelduck, redshanks, ringed plovers, eider ducks and mute swans but I like the mood and patterns of this image best.

I set out about 4pm, after a day of DIY and just as the rain came on. After a near-immediate puncture in the woods and a bit of bodging to get going again (advice: do not trust free pumps from magazines!) I was in 2 minds, but I decided to carry on and as ever, I'm glad I did. There was nobody else there at all, I had the bay and the beach to myself.

I was pleased to see a couple of things I've been missing so far this year - the "Tern Breeding Grounds" signs are up at the farthest west of the beach, and the marsh ragwort is out along the Biel Burn.

I do hope we get loads of terns. And I do hope I get lots of photos!

More from today on Flickr.

More Tyneinghame and Belhaven blips from me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.