just allan

By allan

Pied Piper

Pied Wagtail on the Biel Burn, East Lothian. I went out for a ride this morning intending to head for Pressmennan, but I didn't feel very energetic so I just slipped into the mood of the beautiful day. By the time I got near Stenton I was pretty tired and I sat down in a field by a river to see what I could see. I disturbed a couple of mallards and a wagtail, so I waited to see if they'd come back. They didn't.

I then fell asleep in the sunshine, and wakened feeling much better. Still no birds, so I took a walk along the river. A herd of young bulls took great interest in me which got a bit unnerving but they eventually worked out I wasn't going to feed them. Then I spotted my wagtail in the river ahead of me. I crouched down and quietly took a few shots. Then another jumped onto the rock, just for a few seconds and I took this one.

A bit of a round-about ride home and just time to mow the grass now before off to Iain and Lindsey's for dinner. A barbecue I suspect!

EDIT: It wasn't a barbie, it was a wonderful Sunday roast with a killer rhubarb soufflé pudding. Just as well I brought sweet chilli crisps for crunching through Indiana Jones afterwards!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.