CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

For Molly

I forced myself out of bed before 7am this morning, as I just couldn't stop a coughing fit again, and I didn't want to disturb Helena any more. While I made a cup of tea, and fed Bomble, I saw the lovely early morning light crossing the Golden Valley to the far side, lighting up the spring line settlements of Butterow, Monseratt and Brimscombe in the distance.

I went to lie down in a spare bed, where Bomble joined me for a snuggle, as per usual. He does so love to get up close to us and share the warmth, even in mid-summer. But I couldn't get back to sleep so I grabbed my camera and thought I would record the opening of this Amaryllis, which I have been waiting months for it to sprout its four huge leaves and then this flower stem.

I have no idea how to manage Amaryllis plants, and always seem to forget to keep them dry at the right times and then to water them in preparation for new growth. It doesn't seem to matter as the leaves look wonderful, although I can't show them here.

I love the explosion of energy encapsulated in these moments when plants show their blooms. Last night the buds inside its enclosure were just separating and I knew that the flower was about to perform. By the time I finished taking these pictures it seemed that I could see the first of the four flowers enclosed in this tight space actually growing in real time.

This is how I feel about blipping. Much as I like to hear from other blippers, I can't spend too much time perusing blips and adding pertinent comments. I want to get on and flower for myself, whether through my photography, my writing or just getting involved with communal activity. I'm pleased when others enjoy or value anything I do, but I don't want to do it just for their reactions.

Blipping is still very important to me and I want to thank anyone who drops by and I do hope you all enjoy my journal, which for me is always a combination of pictures and words.


I would also like to take this opportunity to encourage you to join in the Challenge in memory of Amalarian, or Molly as we knew her through her journal Tuscany. To commemorate her passing, BethanneElion has started this Challenge.

If you have never come across Molly's journal, she started here. When I started she was one of my first visitors and as so mamy of us know from their own experience, she showed us how a blipper and their journal could be. I still become tearful when I think of her. RIP

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.