Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

McClaren suspended ...

... from roof of shopping centre.

I don't like motor racing. I actually thought this was an inflatable model but they have a video showing it is a real car, and all the shenanigans they had to go through to get it up in the air. The Bahrain Grand Prix is a no-no to me. I'm just not interested.

I don't like running either so the other big sporting event of today, the London Marathon, should also have been a turn off. But the BBC coverage is brilliant, we had it on all morning. So many interesting stories. So many committed people.

Anyway listening to Bernie Ecclestone and the other motor racing cronies banging on about not mixing up sport an politics made me angry. They're quite happy for their sport to be hosted by a backward looking regime of fat men with money who are oppressing their own people. Contrast the marathon. Ordinary people doing remarkable things, running for causes that add value to the community and improve the lives of people the way over. I know what I would rather watch.

Actually, the definition of shenanigans according to The Urban Dictionary is Deception or tomfoolery on the part of carnival stand operators. It goes on in a related definition to say Once a charge of shenanigans has been accepted by an authority figure, said patrons are free to assault the owners of said establishment with brooms. I should imagine that quite a few citizens of Bahrain would love to have a broom right now ...

Bought a jacket and some shirts today. Reluctantly going to have to dress a bit smarter at work. Goes with the new territory. Oh well ... We all have to grow up sometime ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.