The long journey

By thelongjourney

Perfect day

Spent my last day in Alaska on a day cruise to Misty Fjords national monument. What a perfect way to end the holiday! The day was sunny and mild (weird for Alaska this time of the year) which allowed us on the boat to get close to the rocks and the wildlife. The scenery was spectacular. This in the picture in particular is one of the sights we saw. It is New Eddystone Rock, which is a basaltic rock created about 5 million years ago from basaltic flows from cracks in the canal surface.

After the party I was even invited to the party of the company organising the cruise. It was the last cruise of the season so the staff had a farewell party for the seasonal workers. The ship crew was great and very friendly and when they found out I was traveling solo the made me feel welcome and invited me to tag along. We had so much fun (even though I woke up with one of the worst hungover and I had to fly back to Seattle...urrrgghhh!)

Alaskans are great!


"Cold, cold water bring me round
Now my feet won't touch the ground
Cold, cold water what ya say?
When it's such?
It's such a perfect day

I remember
We were walking up to strawberry swing
I can't wait until the morning
Wouldn't wanna change a thing

People moving all the time
Inside a perfectly straight line
Don't you wanna curve away?
When it's such?
It's such a perfect day"

Strawberry swing - Coldplay

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.