EgyptUnveiled

By EgyptUnveiled

Silver rods

The light roadster (Bicycle) and I visited the Temple of Medinet Habu and the surrounding villages today. The weather was ideal for cycling, a good fresh wind, temperature of about 35 and quiet streets made the ride even more enjoyable.

One of my favourite roads is the 'Sugar cane' road from Habu to El Tod. The sound of the sugar cane swaying in the breeze, set against the backdrop of the Qorna Mountain is so breathtaking, it makes me take a deep breath, smile and , sends tingles down my spine.

The fields are currently filled with golden corn, slowly being hand harvested by the farmers. There is no hurry, as there is not the threat of rain, so bundles of golden ears and their stalks, line up in a military fashion on the corn stubble.

These fluffy, bulrush type silver rods, caught my eye, as they moved in the wind. Like flashes of white light, they line the small irrigation canals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.