To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

The Optipest

This is meal time in my kitchen, and as you can see, I'm closely supervised. This dog, in fact, is so good at his job, he can instantly calculate the odds of getting even the smallest morsel from any number of places. For example, if there is a squirrel outside the door, my daughter is eating at her chair, and I'm at the stove, he will quickly survey the whole scene -- then he'll yip at the squirrel, give me a passing glance, then trot over to the baby's chair where he plants himself, eyes to the ground. He knows that is his best chance for catching anything.

Anyhow, I so rarely drop anything on the floor while I'm cooking, but he's pretty much always there, underfoot, just in case. He can be a pest, but I give him an 'A' for optimism.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.