A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

Earth Day

For Earth Day, there was a huge manifestation: usually, it's only about the climate, which makes sense. But right now, Quebec is basically going through a kind of revolution, so Earth Day became the pretext to have people who fight for very different things express their anger at how the governments (both provincial and national) deal with issues like education, healthcare, environment.

They say we were about 200000. I think we might have been more than that. When I took this photo, I was somewhere in the middle of the throng of people. We stayed about an hour at the arrival point, and when we left, there were still people far from that mid-point.
But however many we were, we walked, calmly, with kids in strollers, old people, wheelchairs, costumes, signs, because we believe we are at a cross road and want change to build a more responsible and generous world.

I'm sorry for not being very assiduous these days. I'm settling back, but the to-do list is still really impressive.
I backblipped Thursday's picture

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.