ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Train Tunnel.

After a hectic start to my day tying up loose ends in the office and having a panic mid-morning about my train tickets (cue running home to search for my 16-25 railcard, which was never actually asked for), I finally settled on to the train to York at around 3pm. I had managed to get myself a deal so that my ticket (in first class) only cost £25, which was probably cheaper than I usually manage to get it in the cattle truck!

I wasn't expecting first class to be much different, but I was very wrong. The seats weren't too cramped (at 5'8" I'm often left with my knees under my chin on trains and planes) and it was a bit quieter than the other coaches so I could get on with proof-reading my report. I especially liked the free glasses of wine, crisps, sandwiches and cake (I wish I'd been hungry enough for the complimentary hot food as it looked and smelled delicious) - I was very impressed. The journey down is quite a long one, and after 4 hours you do start to get quite bored, but I had a long report to read and after just over 5 hours, we pulled into York.

Here you have a picture of the roof of York station... I quite like the continuity of it. Dad kindly drove all the way out to York and back to take me home, where I was greeted by the smell of home-cooked steak pie in the aga, and a very excitable Molly-dog. We had a lovely dinner and a glass of wine, and I am now more than ready for a comfortable night's sleep in a bed with a memory-foam mattress and ironed sheets... There's nothing like being home :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.